anyone updated to nmea 2000 output?

Forum for those owners restoring a Fairline.
  • Advertisement

anyone updated to nmea 2000 output?

Postby rentalrider » Wed Sep 03, 2014 1:38 pm

Hello,
I have an '84 Turbo with volvo diesel engines. Looking to convert the analogue info to be read by the new electronics I'm considering. Anyone done this?
rentalrider
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Aug 16, 2013 12:22 pm

Re: anyone updated to nmea 2000 output?

Postby superheat6k » Fri Sep 05, 2014 10:29 pm

Did mine with the Noland RS11. About £240 including import fees. You also need an NMEA2000 starter kit such as Garmin, about £60

www.noland.com Florida, US based. Good unit but not very good customer service.
Failed Yachtie !!!
superheat6k
 
Posts: 246
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 8:43 pm
Boat: Fairline Turbo 36

Re: anyone updated to nmea 2000 output?

Postby rentalrider » Wed Sep 10, 2014 8:23 pm

Thanks!!!!
rentalrider
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Aug 16, 2013 12:22 pm

Re: anyone updated to nmea 2000 output?

Postby neiloakley » Wed Apr 15, 2015 7:35 am

An old post I know, but how did you get on with the RS11?

I bought one whilst I was in the US. But i could never get accurate readings.

I piggy backed on the connections on the back of the insturments, but temperature would vary randomly from -100 to +180, oil pressure always read max etc.

I tried trouble shooting my measuring resistance and plotting it back versus the reading on the chartplotter but there was no pattern. I gave up in the end.

Would love to figure it out though.
neiloakley
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 3:51 pm
Boat: Corniche

Re: anyone updated to nmea 2000 output?

Postby superheat6k » Thu Apr 16, 2015 8:40 pm

Mine has worked faultlessly since I first installed it, never had reason to review the settings.

Are your connections tight ?

How have you set it up ?
Failed Yachtie !!!
superheat6k
 
Posts: 246
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 8:43 pm
Boat: Fairline Turbo 36

Re: anyone updated to nmea 2000 output?

Postby neiloakley » Fri Apr 17, 2015 4:09 pm

Connects are all extra tight. It's tapped into the connections on the back of the main helm guages.

I even had help from Noland but they couldn't figure it out either.

I'm going to reset to default, and try again. Can't do it until the boat goes back in the water as I cant measure the voltage with high temp and high/low oil pressure until I can run the engines.
neiloakley
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 3:51 pm
Boat: Corniche

Re: anyone updated to nmea 2000 output?

Postby superheat6k » Fri Apr 17, 2015 8:16 pm

Where are you based and what engines. I would expect your oil pressure and water temp levels / scales will be similar to mine (VP TAMD60C). My tachos are driven by an inductive pick up. I can try and find out what I set the counter scales to.

Bear in mind also the scales are reversed inasmuch as the oil pressure voltage rises as the pressure falls (I think). All the Noland is doing is ratioing two scales for each parameter.
Failed Yachtie !!!
superheat6k
 
Posts: 246
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 8:43 pm
Boat: Fairline Turbo 36

Re: anyone updated to nmea 2000 output?

Postby superheat6k » Fri Apr 17, 2015 8:21 pm

Failed Yachtie !!!
superheat6k
 
Posts: 246
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 8:43 pm
Boat: Fairline Turbo 36

Re: anyone updated to nmea 2000 output?

Postby neiloakley » Mon Apr 20, 2015 10:36 am

Yes I have that book, i'm happy with how it's installed (i.e as per all the published guidance) but the readings are wildly inaccurate.

For example, with the volts scale set at 1=1 and 10=10, I would get a reading on my chart-plotter of 48v. That's impossible on a 12v system. A multimeter on the pin i'm taking a reading from show's it never goes over 14.5/14.6v

I'm based at Essex marina. Twin TAMD41a
neiloakley
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 3:51 pm
Boat: Corniche

Re: anyone updated to nmea 2000 output?

Postby superheat6k » Tue Apr 21, 2015 8:10 pm

I assume you have tried Noland. I import industrial control systems already from Florida, and fancied trying to sell these things to the Marine industry.

I bought several RS11 units last year, but due to the inordinate price couldn't find any takers, and ended up selling them below cost, and generally found Noland's attitude to customer support less then interested, and had nil interest at all in my firm becoming their UK Agent.

This is in complete contrast to the other Florida firm we buy from.

That said my unit has worked faultlessly.
Failed Yachtie !!!
superheat6k
 
Posts: 246
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 8:43 pm
Boat: Fairline Turbo 36


Return to Project Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests

  • Advertisement
cron