Bruce, delta or Britanny anchor? Which one??

The place for Fairline discussions!
  • Advertisement

Bruce, delta or Britanny anchor? Which one??

Postby ~Ray~ » Sun Feb 28, 2010 8:38 pm

Hi
I've been here before but still do not have a solution.
i anchor our Targa 31 in the mouth of the river Yealm (Plymouth) which has a sandy but loose weed covered bottom. I believe I have a 10 kilos Britany anchor with ~ 60 meters of chain. She does not hold on the full tidal flow. So i need another anchor.
My question is which one?
All thoughts welcome..
Regards
Ray

"Flying Cloud"
User avatar
~Ray~
 
Posts: 225
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2007 8:32 pm
Boat: Targa 31

Postby ~Ray~ » Sun Feb 28, 2010 9:08 pm

Well... The popular view on the net is Danforth ~20kilos..
Comments please..
Regards
Ray

"Flying Cloud"
User avatar
~Ray~
 
Posts: 225
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2007 8:32 pm
Boat: Targa 31

Postby jkay » Mon Mar 01, 2010 11:06 am

Ray
I'm a Delta fan we had 5 boats smallest 2 tonnes total about 16 t
on a single 10 kg Delta through a change of tide(Istayed on the boats just in case and no movement at all
I usea 6kg on my Carrera in the Wash with no problems
If its good enough for te RNLI its good enough for me
I think Jimmy Green may have the best Delta prices
"It was the crew's fault"
jkay
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 9:24 pm
Boat: carrera

Postby ~Ray~ » Mon Mar 01, 2010 11:19 am

Hi
Thanks for the information.
Good comment about the RNLI.
Regards
Ray

"Flying Cloud"
User avatar
~Ray~
 
Posts: 225
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2007 8:32 pm
Boat: Targa 31

Postby ajay » Mon Mar 01, 2010 12:46 pm

I also changed my brittany for a delta, you can loose weight and still have better holding, eg a 12 or 14kg brit is equiv to a 10kg delta.

I have a 12kg brittany with one bent fluke (can be bent back) for free if anyone wants to collect it (Southampton) for a spare etc.
ajay
 
Posts: 183
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 11:07 pm
Boat: Targa 30

ANCHOR

Postby MERRELLE » Mon Mar 01, 2010 1:10 pm

HI

I CONCUR THAT DELTA SEEMS TO DO THE TRICK I HAVE ON TARGA 30 USED IN SOLENT WITH VERY STRONG SPRING TIDES NO
PROBLEM.

PREVIOUS ON BENETEAU 32,3 FORTRESS, WORKED WELL FORTRESS BEING CONSIDERABLY LIGHTER BUT SAFELY ANCHORED WITH IT OFF COWES WHERE TIDES ARE VERY STRONG . (PLENTY OF CHAIN)
ITS WORTH CONSIDERING.

ROGER
MERRELLE
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Dec 18, 2009 5:22 pm

Postby ~Ray~ » Mon Mar 01, 2010 1:24 pm

hi
The voteing seems 100% in favour of Delta.
So,,, hummm,,,, what should I buy...... DELTA!! :D
Thanks for all the help.
Regards
Ray

"Flying Cloud"
User avatar
~Ray~
 
Posts: 225
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2007 8:32 pm
Boat: Targa 31

Postby Tico » Mon Mar 01, 2010 2:11 pm

Ray
I'm surprised that you cant hold with 60m of chain! What depth are you anchoring in?
I manage to hold in pretty strong currents in 20 ft of water with 30m of chain.

Chain should be 8mm short link. 60m is bl**dy heavy!

I use a 10kg 'bruce' copy...... I can get you one if you want easily
P
PS gotta say that Delta are good but v. expensive
Tico
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2003 7:17 am
Boat: Fairline Targa 31

Postby ~Ray~ » Mon Mar 01, 2010 2:13 pm

It should have read 60 foot of chain.
But even with that I broke free last summer when the tide got up to speed and only in about 20 foot of water.
Regards
Ray

"Flying Cloud"
User avatar
~Ray~
 
Posts: 225
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2007 8:32 pm
Boat: Targa 31

Postby Tico » Mon Mar 01, 2010 2:46 pm

Right.... altho 20m in 20ft of water is only a 3:1 scope so a bit minimal in a strong flow. I doubt that changing anchor would make that much difference. Wd be better to extend the chain..... only my opinion!
Tico
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2003 7:17 am
Boat: Fairline Targa 31

Postby ~Ray~ » Mon Mar 01, 2010 2:52 pm

Hi Tico.
You have made me think how much chain I have . :?

How much does Sea Dream have?
Regards
Ray

"Flying Cloud"
User avatar
~Ray~
 
Posts: 225
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2007 8:32 pm
Boat: Targa 31

Postby Tico » Mon Mar 01, 2010 3:48 pm

Hi Ray
I have just over 30m of 8mm calibrated chain to suit the windlass and thats good for anchoring in 20Ft overnight.

I generally work on the same number of metres of chain as the depth in feet for a lunch/afternoon stop and a bit more overnight.

as someone else said, 'it doesnt do any good in the locker!'

As a compromise, somewhere between 30 and 40 m. wouldnt go for any more on the grounds of weight.OK?
Tico
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2003 7:17 am
Boat: Fairline Targa 31

Postby ~Ray~ » Mon Mar 01, 2010 3:51 pm

Thanks.
You know as nutty as it sounds I can't remember how much chain I have. It's quite a lot... I'll check next time I'm out.
Regards
Ray

"Flying Cloud"
User avatar
~Ray~
 
Posts: 225
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2007 8:32 pm
Boat: Targa 31

Postby jkay » Mon Mar 01, 2010 10:43 pm

I have 30m x 6mm(my mate says his gold chain around his neck is thicker)chain and 30m anchor plait that I have never used
As Tico has said I generally anchor in 20/25' and have no problems
A 10 kg Delta will be about ?100 plus postage or collect one locally
"It was the crew's fault"
jkay
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 9:24 pm
Boat: carrera

Postby ajay » Tue Mar 02, 2010 12:55 pm

ajay
 
Posts: 183
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 11:07 pm
Boat: Targa 30

Next

Return to Fairline Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 31 guests

  • Advertisement
cron