83 Fairlane 32 flybridge sedan

Forum for those owners restoring a Fairline.
  • Advertisement

83 Fairlane 32 flybridge sedan

Postby Gyula Huszar » Thu Dec 01, 2016 2:10 am

I suppose every 'seasoned' boat is a bit of a project; my new acquisition is no different. I got it a week and a half ago, and I've already replaced the risers (5 years old), fixed the wiring to the starboard engine starter, got the radio (entertainment) replaced, and so on. I've got to fix the fuel gauge (no responses to my plea for help on another forum), but I'm a mechanic and I have a plan. I'll get it sorted.
It was repowered with twin fuel injected 5.7 l. gasoline engines and Volvo duoprop outdrives were put on to complete the drive systems. I've got 640 h.p., so I figure I'll be able to get it up to 80 kmh. at full throttle. The previous owner said he wouldn't go faster than 60 kmh because of fear.
Is there anything (besides deadheads and wood) that I should fear? Are these hulls stable at speed?
My performance figures are based on this article;
http://www.boatingmag.com/boats/shoot-o ... s-cruisers

And since mine is a little shorter and a little narrower, but with the same drivetrains, I figure I can't be too far off.
Gyula Huszar

Re: 83 Fairlane 32 flybridge sedan

Postby Gyula Huszar » Mon Dec 05, 2016 6:46 pm

Was out yesterday on a beautiful December day in Burrard Inlet, and the boat got skittish at 3200 rpm and the trim was way too much a part of the attitude algorithm. I was going over 60 kmh at that point, but being new to the boat I backed off the throttles due to operator logic. Besides, there was wood in the water and some of it was bigger than necessary to sink my boat. I'll try again when conditions permit. I guess it's better to be overpowered than under in any case.
Gyula Huszar

Postby Gyula Huszar » Mon Jan 09, 2017 8:26 pm